frogpopla.blogg.se

The hate you give chapter 18 summary
The hate you give chapter 18 summary




He takes all of the plates from her, dumps them in the sink, and turns the water on. She starts to pick up Daddy’s plate, but he touches her arm. Brickz chomps and slobbers over some ribs in his corner.Īfterward, Momma collects our plates and silverware. I guess he can tell nobody’s in the mood. Sekani can’t sit still, like he’s itching to give every detail of his day. Between the disaster at the DA’s office and King, my ribs and baked beans look disgusting. We all sit around the kitchen table, but it’s the quietest dinner in Carter family history. It doesn’t stop her from beating the steaks. Nothing in the kitchen is safe.ĭaddy holds up the bags for her to see. Momma’s beating the hell out of some steaks when we get home. “I won’t let him do anything to you,” Daddy says. We close early and pick up dinner from Reuben’s.ĭuring the short drive home, I notice every car behind us, especially if it’s gray. His shoulders slump, and he takes a deep breath. His minions follow, and he peels out, leaving the truth behind.ĭaddy sinks onto the old people’s bench. King leaves, pushing the door hard enough to nearly break the hinges, the bell clanging wildly. Daddy’s hand is at his waist like it’s glued there. There are several agonizing seconds of Daddy and King staring each other down. “The folks who were involved in the hustle need to be careful ’bout what they say or even think ’bout doing.” Wouldn’t want them to be in danger ’cause they ran their mouth.” So people gotta be careful when they talking to the DA. That could mean problems for anybody who may have been involved in his hustle. Make it seem like a good thing they got killed. Shit, they try to find out more ’bout the person who died than the person who shot them. “These cases always interesting,” King says. “What the hell is that supposed to mean?” Hope she know to keep her mouth shut when she supposed to.” “I heard Starr-Starr the witness they been talking ’bout on the news. I know ’bout your problems,” King says, a laugh bubbling from him. “Why he need money from you when he stole five Gs from me?” He was supposed to come in today and didn’t. I had some mercy and paid it all up front like a dumbass. “I said I don’t know! He asked me for a couple hundred dollars the other day. “All the shit I did for you,” King says, “and this how you repay me? Where he at, Big Mav?” Sweat glistens on the rolls of fat on the back of his head. King paces and points his cigar at Daddy. It’s damn near blasphemous to think like that though. Daddy isn’t skinny or short, but compared to King, who’s pure muscle at six feet, he looks tiny. I’m ashamed to admit it, but I don’t know if Daddy stands a chance against King. They wait beside the car.ĭaddy steps aside, and King lumbers in. Three other King Lords hop out the BMW, but Daddy calls out, “Nah. I catch a glimpse of King getting out the BMW before Daddy closes the door in my face.ĭaddy stands guard in the entrance of the store. He pulls me to his office and shoves me in. “My baby.”Ī gray BMW comes to a sudden stop in front of the store. “Duh,” he mocks, and kisses the top of my head. You’ve set a good example of what a man should be. You haven’t set a good example of what a black man should be. Thought I turned you against black men or didn’t set a good example of a black man. My thing is, girls usually date boys who are like their daddies, and I ain’t gon’ lie, when I saw that white-Chris,” he corrects, and I smile. “Since you wanna ask me questions, do you have a problem with white people?” I didn’t want you talking about me and Chris like that.” I’ve heard the stuff you’ve said about interracial couples. Chris lives down the street from him, so it was harder to hide. “So why you tell him ’bout the white boy?” He would’ve ran background checks on them or arrested them. “Daddy!” I smack his arm as he cracks up. One in fourth grade, although that doesn’t really count, and two in middle school, which don’t count either ’cause nobody knows shit about a relationship in middle school. I’ve had black boyfriends.” Three of them. “Besides the fact he’s adorable-” I say, and Daddy makes a gagging sound, “he’s smart, funny, and he cares about me. I wasn’t expecting him to go right into it. Our older customers who can’t walk much usually sit there as Daddy, Seven, or I get their groceries for them. Daddy waits on the wooden bench at the front of the store. Y’all don’t know ’bout that.”Ī couple of rinses in the restroom transform my mouth from a swamp of puke residue to normal. “Like you killed those eggs this morning?” Before you kill my produce with your breath.” “Don’t start!” He goes down the medicine aisle. I feel normal enough to say, “Now I’m your baby? You haven’t been acting like it.” He wipes my face with his hands, which are rough as sandpaper, but I’m used to them.






The hate you give chapter 18 summary